Prayer

Had my life not been wrapped up in string,
I would cross many miles to be with you.
Only I am not the true owner of my life
A power above all that is seen has enslaved me
Quietly my lips move to the beat of a prayer
With bound hands I pray for solitude
And for the acceptance of all that I have
As one will never know how I truly feel
For that feeling effects only my soul
Who on this earth can truly have what I want?
Apart from those unaware of already having it.

© Suzi Yammouni

Leave a Reply

