Observations of a Poet

I am not a poet

I am a person

to whom poetry happens

This fundamental

creative act with language

evokes emotional and sensual

responses to the senses

A power that defines

new meaning to a word

then encourages that word

to become apparent

Flaunting the soul

that few attempt to grasp

and most allow to slip through

unnoticed

living

in their inoculated

world of

shallow undertakings

of self-centred

bygones that

follow into their future

without thinking

how or why

For surely it is

a sad thing in this world

that people live

in an unpoetic manner

For a poem

is not just isolated

to words on paper

a poem

is a way

of identifying the world

and of oneself

© Suzi Yammouni

12 comments

  1. Absolutely Brilliant. I am reblogging this piece for one reason mainly; Firstly, no one & no written piece has ever come this close to my exact thoughts about poetry.

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I wrote this poem while I was surrounded by people who have no idea what it is I do, nor understand it. It’s nice to know, someone gets it. Thank you also for the reblog

      1. I totally get your ‘frustration.’ I am surrounded by a very similar sort too. It is a huge pleasure, believe me!

        You will like this:

        POETRY

        What tribe will have you dance its folk lore
        Anyhow you wish and still call you right
        Like poetry would do with words for sure,
        Misspelling and not punctuating left and right?

        You married the spouse and planted the trees,
        Amassed the wealth and ensured the health,
        Won over the law and gained with the fees;
        Even books don’t give the freedom of a poet.

  2. Reblogged this on yasniger and commented:
    Absolutely Brilliant. I am reblogging this piece for one reason mainly; no one & no written piece has ever come this close to my exact thoughts about poetry.

  3. Most are oblivious of their surroundings and of themselves. Not so with those aware of the poem. Beautiful post.

  4. I found my way here thanks to Yas. And I’m glad that I did. This is excellent and I share your feelings that it is a shame that people don’t live poetically. Judging by your experience of living poetically, it would seem that to miss this would indeed be to live a shallower life.

    1. Thank you Jeremy, such a nice thing to say. Yas has single-handedly sent me a lot of traffic here. I only started using WP 2 weeks ago and I’m still a bit lost here trying to navigate my way around. Thank you for stopping by

Leave a Reply

